Skip to Main Content

The Bowland Award

The Bowland Award, a hen harrier sculpture in bronze, is awarded annually for the best project, best practice or outstanding contribution to the wellbeing of Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

The Award is one of our ways of acknowledging the tireless work of people who contribute to making the UK’s AONBs wonderful places to visit, live and work in. Each year we look for a person or a group of people for whom sharing, learning, inspiring is a way of life and who have made an outstanding contribution to the wellbeing of AONBs. Awards are made at a special ceremony at our annual Landscapes for Life Conference.

Since its inception in 1999 the Bowland Award has been awarded to 19 people or projects.

Bowland Award Winners 2019

20th Anniversary of the Chichester Harbour Education Service

Bowland Award Winners 2018

Wye Valley River Festival

Bowland Award Winners 2017

North Pennines AONB Nectarworks project

Bowland Award Winners 2016

Dorset AONB Stepping into Nature Project

Bowland Award Winners 2015

Cranborne Chase AONB South Wiltshire Farmland Birds Project

Bowland Award Winners 2014

North Pennines AONB Altogether Archaeology Project

Bowland Award Winners 2013

Chilterns Chalk Stream Project

Bowland Award Winners 2012

Lincolnshire Chalk Streams Project

Bowland Award Winners 2011

The Gower Society

Bowland Award Winners 2010

Butterfly Conservation

Bowland Award Winner 2009

Mike Taylor OBE

Bowland Award Winner 2008

Simon Hooton

Bowland Award Winner 2007

Professor Adrian Phillips CBE

Bowland Award Winners 2006

The Countryside Agency

Bowland Award Winner 2005

The Rt. Hon. Alun Michael MP

Bowland Award Winner 2004

Richard Butler

Bowland Award Winner 2002

Ray Woolmore

Bowland Award Winner 2000

The Rt. Hon. The Lord Renton of Mount Harry

Bowland Award Winner 1999

Professor Gerald Smart