Skip to Main Content

Laurel Prize

The Laurel Prize is an annual award for the best collection of nature or environmental poetry to highlight the climate crisis and raise awareness of the challenges and potential solutions at this critical point in our planet’s life. The Prize dovetails and partners with The Ginkgo Prize which rewards best single poems.

The winners of the Laurel Prize 2020 were named at an online ceremony in October 2020, and three of them have been commissioned to write new poems celebrating their chosen Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

Overall Winner

Pascale Petit for her collection Mama Amazonica - she is working with Cornwall AONB.

Runner up

Karen McCarthy-Woolf, for Seasonal Disturbances, is working with Coast and Heaths AONB.

Winner of the best first collection

Matt Howard, for Gall, is working with Norfolk Coast AONB.

We are thrilled to be working with the poets and will share the new poems soon.